A Tired Woman’s Battle Squeak

I keep beginning a battle cry

About rhinoceros stampeding

An Empire weak and bleeding

Lazarus wounds that will die

Again from red-eyed indignation

Spun a royal mantle of thin air

Bravado breath and false despair

For a withered fragile nation’s

Proud and naked Emperor

Tearing clothes off human skin

Holding hubris close as sin

Spewing bile from rotten core.

 

I keep beginning a battle song

Honed by years of womaning

My pen sword can still sing

But my voice is tired and wrong

Again from fatigue creeping in

Spun a web on which to stand

But it’s sticking to my hands

A cocoon I’m trapped within

Edges singed by my own fire

Healing demands time for sorrow

I will flex again tomorrow

Tonight this butterfly is tired.

– November 15, 2016

unnamed

Leave a comment